iPhone Duo 14 Oct 2026, 22:45

iPhone Duo: repairs could run up to $1,499, according to IGN

iPhone Duo: repairs could run up to $1,499, according to IGN

IGN says Apple’s first foldable, the iPhone Duo, could start at $1,999, with repairs reaching $1,499 without AppleCare+.

  • According to the same report, repairs could cost $199 for the glass back, $999 for the inner display, and up to $1,499 for “other damage.”
  • The publication recommends AppleCare+ and a case, and compares the possible fragility to earlier Samsung foldables.

What happened

IGN says Apple is preparing to launch its first foldable phone, the iPhone Duo. The article cites a starting price of $1,999, but does not state that Apple has confirmed that figure in the material provided. The report ties that price to a device that, according to IGN, should arrive next week, though no exact release date is given.

The same report says repair costs could be steep if AppleCare+ is not purchased. IGN cites 9to5Mac and lists specific amounts: $199 for damage to the glass back, $999 for damage to the inner display, and up to $1,499 for a category described as “other damage.” According to the text, it is not clear what Apple includes in that final category. That makes the highest repair figure difficult to pin down exactly, since the description is not broken down into parts or damage types.

IGN places those figures in the context of a premium device with a high purchase price. The publication therefore recommends considering AppleCare+ and using a case as well. The article also stresses that the quoted repair prices are not presented as a general estimate, but as specific amounts attributed to a source. The source reference in the text points to 9to5Mac, while IGN itself published the story on October 14, 2026.

Timeline

  • 2026-10-14: IGN publishes a story about the iPhone Duo and its possible repair costs.

  • 2026-10-14: In the same report, IGN cites a $1,999 starting price and repair amounts of $199, $999, and up to $1,499.

  • Next week, relative to the publication date: the iPhone Duo would reportedly go on sale, according to IGN.

Background

In the article, IGN recommends AppleCare+ and a case because of the combination of a high purchase price and potentially expensive repairs. The publication also compares the iPhone Duo with earlier Samsung foldables, which are described in the report as having fragility issues, such as gaps where sand could get in and damage to the inner display. That comparison is used to illustrate the general vulnerability of foldables, not to suggest the same flaw or defect has been confirmed for Apple.

The AppleCare+ context matters because the report explicitly links the repair costs to situations where that coverage is not in place. In the provided information, AppleCare+ is mentioned as the way to reduce out-of-warranty costs, but the exact terms, deductibles, and coverage for the iPhone Duo are not specified. As a result, it remains unclear how the service costs relate to the cited $199, $999, and $1,499 figures.

The term “other damage” also remains vague in the report. The available text does not list separate components, does not provide a breakdown of damage categories, and does not include official Apple documentation explaining that line item. Because of that, it is not possible to determine from the provided information whether it refers to structural damage, multiple failures at once, or another service category. The only concrete numbers in the report are the cited repair amounts and the $1,999 starting price.

Sources

  • IGN: “A Broken iPhone Duo Could Cost Up to $1,499 to Repair”
  • 9to5Mac, as cited by IGN